Pink Champagne at the Hollywood Fringe Festival

I saw Pink Champagne at the Elephant Stages, part of the Hollywood Fringe Festival. It’s written and performed by Dylan Jones, directed by Aryiel Hartman.

This show is billed as a cabaret filled with ‘Glitter & Shenanigans.’ I like all of these things, but this play doesn’t provide any of them. To me, it came across as Theatre of the Absurd, with dancing and singing.

It opens with the backup performers warming up their voices, dancing a bit and ad libbing as the audience enters. They begin the show with the cast singing and dancing to showtunes and Dylan Jones, the star, enters.

This is when the show, in my opinion, jumps the shark. Dylan Jones goes through a past life regression and we see three different random scenes, I guess dealing with love and rejection. Or was it four scenes? I really don’t know and I was there.

While sitting in the audience, I remembered when my sister and I would put on impromptu plays for our family. It’s kind of fun to watch, but mostly because the performers are having fun and you’re captivated to see more because you have absolutely no idea what’s going to happen next.

I left the show wondering, “What the fuck did I just see?” The actors’ energy levels seemed low and maybe Pink Champagne would be better at different performance, but then again you only have one chance to wow your audience and they didn’t do it.

That being said, I hate saying something negative about a production without having an idea about how to improve it. I have no ideas on how Pink Champagne could’ve been better. Maybe if they served booze and if you watched it all liquored up it would be better. I don’t know.

Still though, it’s not a completely terrible show. I guess it’s kind of fun, but not really worth going to see just for this one show. I do have to say I’d go see another show Dylan Jones puts on. She grabbed my attention enough to see what else she can do, but this show didn’t do it for me.

There’s one more performance of this show left, on Saturday, June 26 at 3:30 PM. If you’re there to see the earlier performance of Kill Your Television, which I already reviewed, stick around and see it and let me know what you think.

One thought on “Pink Champagne at the Hollywood Fringe Festival

Leave a Reply

